Tinubu Leads 9-man Nigerian Delegation to Saudi-Africa Summit in Riyadh

Tinubu Leads 9-man Nigerian Delegation to Saudi-Africa Summit in Riyadh

•Departs Abuja today  Appoints 11 new federal Commissioners for NPC, re-appoints nine others

Deji Elumoye in Abuja

President Bola Tinubu is leading a nine-man Nigerian delegation to the Saudi-Africa Summit billed for November 10, 2023 in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia.

The President who is expected to depart Abuja, today, would be accompanied by the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Amb.  Yusuf Tuggar; Minister of Education, Prof. Tahir Mamman; Coordinating Minister of the Economy and Minister of Finance, Mr. Wale Edun; Minister of Humanitarian Affairs and Poverty Alleviation, Dr. Betta Edu; as well as the Minister of Budget and Economic Planning, Senator Abubakar Bagudu.

Others on the President’s delegation are the National Security Adviser (NSA), Mallam Nuhu Ribadu; the Director General of the National Intelligence Agency (NIA), Ambassador Ahmed Rufai Abubakar; and the Chairman of the National Hajj Commission of Nigeria (NAHCON), Mallam Jalal Arabi.

At the Saudi-Africa Summit,  Tinubu, according to a statement issued yesterday, by his Media Adviser, Ajuri Ngelale, would underscore Nigeria’s commitment to attracting more Foreign Direct Investment and expanding business partnerships, which are strongly reinforced by his administration’s ongoing domestic economic reforms.

Discussions at the first Saudi-Africa Summit would revolve around supporting joint action, enhancing political coordination, addressing regional security threats, facilitating economic transformation through research and the local development of new energy solutions, all while bolstering cross-sectoral investment cooperation.

The President is expected back in Abuja at the end of the Saudi-Africa Summit.

Meanwhile, Tinubu has approved the appointment of 20 qualified Nigerians as Federal Commissioners in the National Population Commission (NPC) with nine current Federal Commissioners being re-appointed for a second term in office.

The new appointees, according to Ngelale, included Hon. Emmanuel Trump Eke — Abia; Bishop Alex Ukam — Cross River; Ms. Blessyn Brume-Ataguba — Delta: Dr. Jeremiah Ogbonna Nwankwegu — Ebonyi; Ms. Sa’adatu Dogon Bauchi Garba — Kaduna and Dr. Aminu Ibrahim Tsanyawa — Kano.

Others are Hon. Yori Afolabi — Kogi; Hon. Olakunle Sobukola — Ogun; Hon. Temitayo Oluseye Oluwatuyi — Ondo; Ms. Mary Ishaya Afan — Plateau and Mr. Ogiri Itotenaan Henry — Rivers.

The re-appointed NPC Federal Commissioners are Dr. Clifford Zirra — Adamawa; Mr. Chidi Christopher Ezeoke — Anambra; Isa Audu Buratai — Borno;

Dr. Tony Aiyejina — Edo; Mr. Ejike Ezeh — Enugu; Mr. Abubakar Damburam — Gombe;

Prof. Uba Nnabue — Imo; Senator Mudashiru Hussain — Osun and Mr. Saany Sale — Taraba.

Tinubu, charged the new and returning NPC Federal Commissioners to successfully implement all measures taken by his administration to produce and effectively appropriate accurate population data with which lasting solutions to Nigeria’s socio-political and economic challenges can be conclusively developed and executed.

Related Articles