Tinubu Urges Senate to Confirm Five Nominees As Directors of CBN Board 

* Wants Tadese confirmed as NPC commissioner 

Sunday Aborisade in Abuja 

President Bola Tinubu has asked the Senate to confirm the appointment of five nominees into the board of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) as directors.

The president’s request was contained in a letter read by Senate President Godswill Akpabio on the floor of the Senate Tuesday.

Tinubu said the request was in compliance with the provision of section 6(1a) of the section 10(1)(2) of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) Establishment Act 2007.

 “I am pleased to present for confirmation by the Senate the appointments of the underlisted five persons as directors of the board of the CBN: Robert O. Agbide, Ado Yakubu Wanga, Murtala Sagaley, Urom Eke, and Olayinka Aliyu,” the letter read.

Akpabio then referred the request to the Committee on Banking,  Finance, and other Financial Institutions for further legislative action.  The committee was given one week to act on the request.

Meanwhile, Tinubu also asked the red chamber to confirm Hon. Amidu Tadese Raheem from Osun State as a Commissioner of the National Population Commission ( NPC).

Tinubu, in the letter seeking for the appointment confirmation, said it was done in accordance with the provisions of sections 154 (1) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999 as amended.

He also, in the letter read by President of the Senate, Akpabio to fellow senators, sought for expeditious consideration and approval of the request.

“Whilst hoping that this request will receive the usual expeditious consideration of the Senate, please accept Distinguished Senate President, the assurances of my highest consideration,” he said .

The nominee, Raheem, is a university don and the current Head of Department of Public Administration, Fountain University, Osogbo.

He hails from the prestigious Tadese royal family in Iwo, Osun State and holds Bachelor of Science degrees (Political Science) from Oduduwa University, Ile-Ife; another one on Arts and Education from the University of Ilorin and a Master of Public Administration (MPA), Master of Science in Public Administration and PhD, Public Administration at the Obafemi Awolowo University.

Upon the creation of Osun State from old Oyo State, Tadese contested and won a seat in the Osun State House of Assembly to represent Iwo Constituency 1, in 1992. 

He later emerged Chief Whip of the Parliament.

Related Articles