nPDP Leaders to Meet Buhari, Osinbajo Today


By Hammed Shittu in Ilorin    

In continuation of the dialogue over the grievances of members of the new Peoples Democratic Party (nPDP) bloc of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), another meeting between the group and Vice President Yemi Osinbajo will hold today in Abuja.

Attendees at the meeting according to THISDAY checks are expected to meet President Muhammadu Buhari later in the day to intimate him about the outcome of their meeting.
The nPDP group led by a former acting chairman of the PDP and now a chieftain of the APC, Alhaji Abubakar Baraje had last week met with the national chairman of the APC, Chief John Odigie Oyegun to discuss and possibly resolve their differences.

Baraje who spoke with journalists in Ilorin, Kwara State capital yesterday also confirmed the planned meetings with the Vice President, Prof. Osinbajo and the President Buhari in Abuja today (Monday) barring any last minutes changes.
The APC chieftain commended members of his group and concerned Nigerians who share their views and concerns about the plight of the nPDP members in APC.
Baraje expressed optimism that at the end of today’s meeting with Osinbajo and Buhari, the ruling party will come out stronger and become more united in the general interest of the citizenry.
He said the next line of action of his group will be determined by the outcome of today’s meeting.
Last Saturday, the hierarchy of the defunct new Peoples Democratic Party (nPDP) constituted task teams to help it navigate through the seeming political logjam it has found itself.
The group which played a very vital role in the victory of the APC at the 2015 presidential election is aggrieved and has complained of what it described as the lack of patronage and maltreatment of its members by the APC-led Federal Government.

The group’s complaints which were conveyed in a well-worded protest letter addressed to the APC leadership also issued a seven-day ultimatum to the ruling party for its response. Before the expiration of the ultimatum, the leadership of APC met with Baraje but could not reach an agreement on how to resolve the issues in contention. They however, agreed to continue the discussions on a future date.
In a statement issued by the chairman of the former nPDP, Alhaji Abubakar Kawu Baraje after the group’s deliberations, the group said it has constituted Committees to take charge of the various issues especially on how to rescue Nigeria from economic, social, political and especially security challenges.                           
The statement by nPDP said: ” Nigerians may recall that members of the former New PDP Block within the All Progressives Congress (APC) addressed a letter dated April 27, 2018 to the Chairman of APC where we informed the party of our grievances and expectations from both the party and government of President Muhammadu Buhari. 
“Following this development, the party invited us and we honoured their invitation for a meeting. We met with the leadership of the party last week during which we resolved to report the outcome of our meeting to our members and stakeholders before arriving at any decision or proceeding with the next phase of discussions or actions with the APC and government.

“I am glad to inform you therefore that we have briefed our members at a meeting convened in Abuja on Wednesday, 23rd May 2018 where we reviewed the state of the nation and our party, APC and constituted Committees on various issues especially on how to rescue Nigeria from economic, social, political and especially security challenges,” it said.
According to the statement, the meeting was well attended by members of the nPDP including serving and former Governors, Senators, Members of the House of Representatives, and other aggrieved APC  stakeholders.
Among those listed to have attended the meeting included: Senator Abubakar Bukola Saraki, President of the Senate, Rt. Hon. Yakubu Dogara, Speaker, House of Representatives, Rt. Hon. Aminu Waziri Tambuwal,  Governor of Sokoto State, Senator Rabiu M.  Kwankwaso, Prince Olagunsoye Oyinlola, Admiral Murtala Nyako (Rtd), Senator Mohammad Adamu Aliero, Senator Danjuma Goje, Senator John Owan Enoh, Senator Emmanuel Andy Uba, Senator Dr. Ibrahim Gobir, Sena Rufai Ibrahim, Senator Ibrahim A. Danbaba, Senator Suleman Nazif, Senator Isa Hamma Misau, Senator Muhammed Ubali Shitu, Senator Shehu
Sani, Senator. Dino Melaye, Senator Suleiman O. Hunkuyi, Senator. Shaaba Lafiagi, Senator. Bala Ibn Na’Allah, Senator. David Umaru, Senator Barnabas Gemade, Alhaji. Abubakar K. Baraje, Chairman Former nPDP, members of the House of Representatives, Aminu S. Shagari,  Kabiru Marafa Achida,  Hon. Isa M. Ashiru, Hon. Muh’d Musa Soba, Hon. Mark Gbillah,  Sani Mohd Rano,  Garba Umar Durbunde, Aliyu Madaki, Rep. Zakari Mohammed, Hon. Rufai Ahmed Chachangi, Hon. Razak Atunwa, Hon. Emmanuel M. Udende, Hon. Hassan Saleh, Hon. Nasiru Garo Sule, Hon. Orker Jev, Hon. Aliyu Ahman Pategi, Hon. Isah Halilu B., Hon. Rabiu Garba Kaugama, Hon. Abdussamad Dasuki, Hon. Ismaila A. Gadaka, Hon. Lado Suleja, Hon. Dickson Tarkighir, Hon. Babatunde Kolawole, Hon. Dr. Bode Ayorinde, Hon. U. Danjuma Shida, Hon. Danburam Nuhu, Hon. Sunday Adepoju, Hon. Sani Zorro, Hon. Ahmed Garba Bichi, Hon. Garba Ibrahim Mohammed and a host of others.