Tinubu: Death of Military Officers, Soldiers in Helicopter Crash Saddens Me Immensely

Tinubu: Death of Military Officers, Soldiers in Helicopter Crash Saddens Me Immensely

•Salutes deceased’s sacrifice, devotion to nation 

•President may inaugurate cabinet Monday

Deji Elumoye in Abuja

President Bola Tinubu, yesterday, said the death of military officers and soldiers in the Air Force helicopter that crashed in Niger State this week, brought immense sadness to him.

While mourning the death of the gallant military officers and men, the President in a release personally signed by him on Tuesday evening, praised the deceased for their sacrifice and devotion to the nation.

Meanwhile, the president may likely administer the oath of office on the 45 ministers-designate cleared by the Senate last week.

Tinubu in  the release stated: “The tragic loss of our gallant officers and soldiers in a helicopter crash at Chukuba Village near Shiroro, Niger State, yesterday, brought immense sadness to me.

“These officers and men were answering the call of duty while on an evacuation mission. In their dedicated service to our beloved country, they paid the ultimate price.

“While we mourn their untimely departure, we will forever remember them, not just as servicemen, but as national heroes who gave their all for the peace and security of our country.

“They will always be remembered as courageous men, who did not consider the perils and dangers of their national duty as paramount to their sacred mandate of ensuring that their fellow countrymen and women can live in peace. We salute their sacrifice, devotion and loyalty to our dear nation – the nation they loved and served to the end.

“On behalf of a grateful nation, I extend my condolences to their families, the Chief of Defence Staff, the Chief of Air Staff, the Chief of Army Staff, the Chief of Naval Staff, and the entire Armed Forces of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

This nonetheless, a top Presidency official, yesterday, evening  confirmed to THISDAY that all was set for the inauguration of the new Federal Executive Council (FEC) at the Council Chambers of the State House, Abuja.

The portfolios of the ministers were, however, being kept close to the chest of President Tinubu and would only be made public at the venue of the inauguration.

The official, who pleaded anonymity, said all the ministers-designate had been informed about their inauguration next next and likely on Monday.

He also informed that the office of the Chief of Staff to the President, Hon Femi Gbajabiamila, was coordinating the inauguration exercise, which would be followed by the inaugural meeting of the FEC next Wednesday.

The FEC meeting, the official said, would also be followed by a retreat for all the new ministers and made to sign a service charter of commitment to faithful implementation of the Renewed Hope Agenda of the administration of President Tinubu.

The 45 Ministers-designate to be inaugurated include Abubakar Kyari (Borno State); Abubakar  Momoh (Edo); Nyesom Wike (Rivers); Nkiru Onyeojiocha (Abia); Prof. Joseph Utsev (Benue); Sen. John Enoh ( Cross River);  Bello Muhammad (Sokoto); Mohammed Badaru (Jigawa);  Amb. Yusuf  Tuggar, (Bauchi); and Uju-Ken Ohaneye (Anambra).

Others include Dr. Olubunmi Tunji-Ojo (Ondo); Dr. Betta .Edu (Cross River); Imaan Sulaiman (Nasarawa); Ahmed Dangiwa  (Katsina), Chief Uche Nnaji (Enugu); Abdullahi Gwarzo (Kano); Simon Lalong (Plateau) and Bello Matawalle (Zamfara), Tunji Alausa (Lagos) Adegboyega Oyetola (Osun); Uba Maigari Ahmadu (Taraba); Lola John (Lagos); Dr. Isiak Salako (Ogun); Sen. Heineken Lokpobiri –  (Bayelsa); Dr Yusuf Sununu (Kebbi); .Prof. Tahir Mamman (Adamawa).

Others are Zephaniah Jisalo (FCT); Ibrahim Geidam (Yobe); Dr. Bosun Tijjani (Ogun); Shuaibu Abubakar (Kogi); Sen. Sabi Abdullahi (Niger); Atiku Bagudu (Kebbi) Sen.Alkali Ahmed  (Gombe); Dr. Mariya Mahmoud (Kano); and Festus Keyamo (Delta), Hannatu Musawa (Katsina); Dr. Doris  Aniche Uzoka (Imo)  David Umahi (Ebonyi); Ekperipe Ekpo (Akwa Ibom); Dele Alake (Ekiti); Lateef Fagbemi (Kwara), Muhammad Idris (Niger);  Olawale Edun (Ogun); Adebayo Adelabu (Oyo) and Prof.Ali Pate (Bauchi).

The senate had screened 48 senatorial nominees at the end of which 45 of them were given clean bill of health while three others, including former governor of Kaduna State, Nasir el-Rufai, would still need to undergo further security screening before their confirmation.

Related Articles