Buhari Gets 2022 Appropriation Bill from N’Assembly 

Buhari Gets 2022 Appropriation Bill from N’Assembly 

. To sign bill into law Friday
Deji Elumoye in Abuja 

President Muhammadu Buhari has received the 2022 Appropriation Bill passed by the two chambers of the National Assembly last week.

He is therefore expected to sign the 2022 budget into law on Friday.
While the House of Representatives passed the bill last Tuesday, the Senate passed it last Wednesday raising the total estimates from the proposed N16.391trillion to N17.126 trillion.

The oil benchmark was raised from the proposed $57 per barrel to $62.
The breakdown of the budget include N869 billion for statutory allocation, N3.8 trillion for debt servicing, N6.9 trillion and N5.4 trillion for recurrent and capital expenditure respectively.

The 2022 Appropriation Bill was transmitted last Friday by the Clerk to the National Assembly,
The transmission letter, with Reference Number NASS/CNA/37/Vol.1/35, addressed to the President and Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and titled ‘APPROPRIATION BILL, 2022.’ read, “In consonance with the Provisions of the Acts Authentication Act Cap. A2, Laws of the Federation of Nigeria, 2004, I wish, with due respect, to forward to Your Excellency, the authenticated copies of Appropriation Bill, 2022, for your consideration and assent.

“After Your Excellency’s assent, one copy of the signed bill should be retained in your office while the other two are to be returned for our further action, please.
“With my highest regards.”

Contacted on the issue, presidential spokesman, Garba Shehu, confirmed to THISDAY on Tuesday that the budget has been transmitted to the President by the National Assembly and will be assented to by President Buhari on Friday.

He responded to prodding via WhatsApp message: “Yes, it’s true the President will sign the 2022 budget by Friday”.

THISDAY further gathered that the event is billed for the Council Chamber at the State House, Abuja by 10am.
Those expected to join the President at the signing ceremony include Vice President Yemi Osinbajo; President of the Senate, Dr Ahmad Lawan; Speaker of the House of Representatives, Hon Femi Gbajabiamila, and a host of other presidential aides.

Related Articles