APC Asks El-Rufai, Okorocha to Reconcile Fayemi, Ojudu, Others


By Adedayo Akinwale

The Caretaker/Extra-Ordinary National Convention Planning Committee of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has appointed a six-member reconciliation committee to reconcile aggrieved party members in the Ekiti State chapter of the ruling party.

The Paul Omotosho-led APC Ekiti State Working Committee (SWC), which is duly recognised by the national leadership of the party, had recently slammed indefinite suspension on the Special Adviser on Political Matters to the President, Senator Babafemi Ojudu and 10 other chieftains of the party in the state.

Ojudu and the 10 other members were slammed with indefinite suspension by the state chapter backed by Governor Kayode Fayemi, over their alleged disobedience, following their failure to withdraw the case they instituted against the party as directed by the National Executive Council (NEC) of the party in its June 25, 2020 meeting, attended by President Buhari.

Others who were suspended alongside Ojudu include: Mr. Ayo Ajibade, Hon. Oyetunde Ojo, Hon. Femi Adeleye, Bunmi Ogunleye, Akin Akomolafe, Bamigboye Adegoroye, Wole Oluyede, Olusoga Owoeye, Dele Afolabi, and Toyin Oluwasola.

But a faction of the party group loyal to Ojudu, and ex-Minister, Mr. Dayo Adeyeye suspended Fayemi from the party for alleged anti-party activities.

However, the national leadership of the APC later described the purported “suspension” of Fayemi, as well as an earlier reported “indefinite suspension” of Ojudu and some other party members in the state as nullity.

The Deputy National Publicity Secretary of the party, Mr. Yekini Nabena, had in a statement advised all members to adhere to the party’s constitution

Nabena, in another statement issued yesterday said the committee chaired by the Governor of Kaduna State, Malam Nasir El-Rufai was inaugurated by the Secretary of the Caretaker Committee, Senator John Akpanudoedehe at the party’s national secretariat in Abuja.

Other members of the committee are: Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives, Hon. Ahmed Idris Wase, Gen. Lawal Jafaru Isah (rtd), Senator Rochas Okorocha, Gen. Muhammed Buba Marwa (rtd) and Mr. Ini Morgan, as the Secretary.

Nabena stressed that the decision to set up the committee was in line with the mandate of the APC Caretaker Committee and the President Buhari admonition to party members to support amicable and rancour-free settlement of internal party disputes.

The party therefore called on party members and leaders in Ekiti State to approach the El-Rufai-led reconciliation committee with all issues so as to achieve amicable settlement in the state chapter.