FCTA Disburses N4.8bn to Area Councils, Stakeholders as Statutory Allocation for December 2023

FCTA Disburses N4.8bn to Area Councils, Stakeholders as Statutory Allocation for December 2023

Olawale Ajimotokan in Abuja 

The Federal Capital Territory Administration (FCTA) has disbursed the sum of N4,816,227,915.56 to the six area councils and other stakeholders as statutory allocation for December 2023.

The 185th Joint Account Allocation Committee (JAAC) meeting, where the fund was allocated, was presided over by FCT Minister of State, Dr. Mariya Mahmoud.

The disbursement was however, a slight increase when compared to N4,729,281,486.6 shared in the preceding month of November 2023.

Mahmoud expressed satisfaction over the synergy between the Satellite Towns Development Department (STDD) and the Area Council authorities in relation to waste collections and management.

While commenting on the report submitted by the FCT Primary Health Care Board, the minister tasked the board to expend its scope beyond the routine immunisation, stressing that drugs and personnel should also be given adequate attention.

From the breakdown of the figures released during the JAAC meeting, the sum of N2,364,151,892.54 was made available for distribution to the six area councils, while the sum of N2,452,076,023.02 was made available to other stakeholders, bringing the total sum to N4,816,227,915.56.

Similarly, distributions to the six area councils showed that the Abuja Municipal Area Council (AMAC) received N549,980,396.03, while Gwagwalada got N371,095,234,.30 and Kuje received N402,341,400.14.

Other area councils include Bwari Area Council, which received N364,674,660.98, Abaji got N313,335,126.30, while Kwali received N362,725,074.79, bringing the total sum to N2,364,151,892.54 billion disbursed to the six area councils.

On the other hand, distribution to other critical stakeholders include primary school teachers, which gulped N2,069,585,348.67 billion, 15 per cent pension funds took N226,478,989.57, one per cent Training Fund gulped N48,162,279.15, while 10 per cent Employer Pension contribution gulped N107,849,405.63, bringing the total sum to N2,452,076,023.02. 

Those present at the 185th JAAC) meeting included a Director in FCTA, Mr. Samuel Atang; Mandate Secretary Area Council Services, Hon. Bitrus Garki; Director of Funds, Mrs. Anthonia Unigwe; and the Director of Finance and Administration in Area Council Secretariat, Mrs. Omolola Olanipekun.

Others were the Chairman of Abaji Area Council, Hon. Abubakar Umar Abdullahi; Chairman of Kwali Area Council, Hon. Danladi Chiya; Chairman of Abuja Municipal Area Council, Hon. Christopher Maikalagun; and the Chairman of Bwari Area Council, Hon. John Gabaya.

Related Articles