Tribunal Sacks Adeleke, Declares Oyetola Winner of Osun Guber Election

Yinka Kolawole in Osogbo

The Osun State Governorship Election Petition Tribunal sitting in Osogbo has declared the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate in the July 16, 2022 poll in the state, Adegboyega Oyetola, as the winner of the election.

Reading the majority judgment, the chairman of the tribunal, Justice Tertsea Kume, said the election was marred by over-voting.

He thereby deducted the number of over-voting presented by Oyetola and APC.

He said having deducted the over-voting figure, Oyetola scored 314,921, while Ademola polled 290,266 votes.

Meanwhile, security personnel took over all areas in Osogbo, the capital of Osun State,  as the Governorship Election Petition Tribunal delivered its judgment in the Oyetola-Adeleke governorship tussle.

Former Governor Oyetola is challenging the victory of Ademola Adeleke during the governorship election held on July 16, 2022 over anomalies in 749 polling units, and certificate forgery. 

There was heavy security presence at Ola-Iya Junction, Oke-Fia, Old-Garage, Lameko as policemen, men of Nigeria Security and Civil Defense Corps and Amotekun as well as other security operatives surrounded the Tribunal premises and other sensitive areas in the town.

Campaign offices of APC and PDP were not spared as security personnel swarmed into the areas to prevent any ugly incident.

Details later…

Related Articles