Adamawa Assembly Removes Deputy Speaker, Three Others


Daji Sani in Yola
The Adamawa State House of Assembly on Monday impeached four of the principal officers, including the Deputy Speaker, Hon. Sunday Peter, and the Majority Leader, Alhaji Musa Mahmud.

Others removed were the Deputy Majority Leader, Mutawali Mohammed and the Minority Leader, Mrs Justina Nkom (SDP-Lamurde) state constituency.

The Speaker of the assembly, Alhaji Kabiru Mijinyawa, presided over the first plenary after the assembly resumed from a six-week recess.

The deputy speaker was immediately replaced by Mr Emmanuel Tsamdu (APC-Madagali), while Hassan Burguma (APC-Hong) was also elected new majority leader.

Abubakar Hayatu (APC-Uba/Gaya) moved the motion for the impeachment of the deputy speaker and was seconded by Abubakar Abdurrahman (APC-Mubi South).

The assembly elected Abubakar Isa (APC-Shelleng) as the new Deputy Majority Leader while Lamsumbani Dili (PDP-Demsa) took over as the Minority Lader.