Old Boys Honour Exceptional Students of Edo College


The Edo College Old Boys Association (ECOBA) has recognised and presented awards to some students of Edo College, Benin City for exceptional performances in various subjects in the last academic session. The award plaques and cash prizes were presented to the deserving students at the graduation/prize-giving ceremony organised by the management of the school recently.

The event, which was part of activities to mark the end of the 2016/2017 academic session, had in attendance many dignitaries including Mr. Arnaud Dornon, the French Cultural Attachee in Nigeria; Ambassador Vincent Okobi, who was the chair of the occasion; and the Head of Service, Edo State Civil Service Commission, Mrs. Gladys Idahor, represented by the Permanent Secretary, Reverend S.O Uwuangue.

The awards recipients include Erokpadamwen Andrew, who won Senator David Dafinone’s prize for Further Mathematics for SS3; the Godwin Ize-Iyamu prize for Mathematics for JSS 3 students went to Ajah Success Ifeanyi; the Senator David Dafinone Foundation prizes for Economics and Accounts in SS3 were clinched by Eguavoen Constance; the Edward Iyamu prize for Physics in SS3 went to Igbinijesu Samuel.

The SS3 prize for Fine Art donated by Michael Omo-Osagie went to Akhigbe Ofure; Air Vice Marshall Joe Ehigie’s prize for Drama was presented to Enofe Eseosa; Osazenaye Osarenkhoe’s prize for Agricultural Science for SS3 was awarded to Uwadiae Erickson, who also won the Madam Ofure Akpata’s prize for Biology; while the Omaha Endowment Foundation prize for Geography went to Odoemenem Chinedu.

At the JS3 level, Ambassador Vincent Okobi’s prize for Best Student in French was presented to Ehimhen Stevenson. Other recipients were Igbinijesu Samuel, who won the overall best performing student award; Okeghemu Emmanuel, best performing student in JS3; and Igiehon Ekpenede bagged the most hard working student award.

In the staff category, Jeffery Igbinedion won the best administrator award; Ifueko Evbenage, best English teacher award; while Mrs. Ighile Esther was awarded most resourceful staff.

In his remarks, Okobi congratulated the graduating students for their success after many years of study in the school.

Also speaking, the Principal, Mr. Raphael Omorogbe congratulated all the graduating students, saying that they have done well by upholding the true value of the college and for obeying the rules and regulations of the school.

He commended all parents and staff for their support throughout the 2016/2017 academic session, stressing that the occasion would not have been possible without their moral and financial support.

While delivering the graduation lecture, the Dean, Faculty of Education, University of Benin, Professor E.O. Iyamu lauded the hard work of the students and admonished them to stay away from any form of deviant behaviour that might put them and their parents to shame.

He encouraged them to always have regard for constituted authorities and obey rules and regulations wherever they find themselves, adding that they should uphold the reading culture as they have already been equipped with tools to guide them towards excellence.

On her part, Idahor advised the graduating students to be good ambassadors of the school by keeping the ball rolling anywhere they find themselves.

Also speaking, the state Commissioner for Education, Mr. Christopher Adesotu, congratulated all students of the school, which he said is known for academic excellence and assured them of success.

The event also featured presentation of awards and prizes for excellence by ECOBA to outstanding students and staff, while awards for best French class and best French students were presented by Okobi.