Be Guided by the Law,  Conscience, CJN tells Judges


By Alex Enumah in Abuja 

The Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN), Justice Walter Onnoghen on Friday advised Judges to be guided by the provision of the constitution, the laws,  their conscience ‎and oath of office in the discharge of their duties.

Onnoghen also advised that as ministers in the temple of justice, they should not allow personal interest to becloud their constitutional responsibilities, adding that the heavens would not come down if they allow the constitution and their conscience to guide them in the dispensation of justice.

The CJN gave the advice yesterday while administering the oath of office and allegiance on 19 newly appointed Judges of the Nigeria Industrial Court at the Supreme Court in Abuja.

Onnoghen further stressed that judicial officers can checkmate impunity in the country by adhering strictly to the rule of law.

‎”I advise judicial officers to always be guided by the constitution, the laws and their conscience in the discharge of their duties. As judicial officers, if you remain truthful to your oath of office, you will have no problem.

“Just allow yourself to be guided by the constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, which is the supreme law, you cannot go wrong. Heavens will not fall by our judgments if we abide by the constitution and our conscience.

“We can only checkmate impunity by adhering to the rule of law.”

The Acting President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo SAN, on Wednesday  approved the appointment of 19 Judges for National Industrial Court of Nigeria.

The appointment was sequel to the recommendation of the National Judicial Council.

The newly sworn-in judges are Targema John Iorngee (Benue State); Namtari Mahmood Abba (Adamawa State); Nweneka Gerald Ikechi (Rivers State); Kado Sanusi (Katsina State); Adeniyi Sinmisola Oluyinka (Ogun State); Abiola Adunola Adewemimo (Osun State); Opeloye Ogunbowale A (Lagos State); Essien Isaac Jeremiah (Akwa-Ibom State); Elizabeth Ama Oji (Ebonyi State and Arowosegbe Olukayode Ojo (Ondo State).

Others include, Ogbuanya Nelson S. Chukwudi(Enugu State); Bashir Zaynab Mohammed (Niger State); Galadima Ibrahim Suleiman (Nasarawa State); Bassi Paul Ahmed (Borno State); Danjidda Salisu Hamisu (Kano State); Hamman Idi Polycarp(Taraba State); Damulak Kiyersohot Dashe( Plateau State); Alkali Bashar Attahiru (Sokoto State) and Mustapha Tijjani (Jigawa State).