Zenith/Delta Principals’ Cup Enters Final Phase


The final phase of the of the Delta State Principals’ Cup Football Competition for Secondary Schools sponsored by Zenith Bank, will kick-off on May 2.

A total of 25 schools who emerged winners from their respective local governments are to be divided into nine groups for the zonal stage of the grassroots football tourney.

Some of the schools expected to compete in the zonal stage include; Urhobo College, Effurun, Divine Standard School, Ewu, Okpe Government School, Sapele, Iwele College, Koko, Amai Secondary School, Amai, Hussey College, Warri and Faith Academy, Ugbolu.

Hideaplux Limited, Warri, the organisers of the event, on Monday explained that these schools would be competing between May 2 and 4 as representatives of their respective local governments
The CEO of the outfit, Tony Pemu, added all arrangements have been concluded for the zonal stage where the eight qualifiers for the next stage would emerge.

“We have gone round the schools to monitor their training for the next round. We have also reached out to some political leaders, religious leaders and traditional rulers to support schools in their domain. All is set for the next round and we expect the boys to exhibit their talents to the world,” Pemu said.

The Delta Principals’ Cup Football Competition for Secondary Schools is a rejuvenated tournament. After so many years of ‘no show,’ Zenith Bank revived the event this year.

The competition that kicked off on March 16 in Asaba, is scheduled to end on May 19.