SGF Inaugurates Reconstituted C’ttee on National Honours


Jaiyeola Andrews in Abuja

The Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Mr. Babachir David Lawal, has inaugurated the newly reconstituted Committee on National Honours Award.

At the inauguration held in his office, the SGF reminded members of the committee that the national award has two purposes, which are to recognise and honour citizens and friends of Nigeria who had distinguished themselves in their various endeavours and contributed immensely to the development of the nation.

Also, he said the recognition was intended to serve as motivation for all Nigerians to emulate the exemplary conduct and services of those being honoured and inspire them for such national recognition.

Lawal reiterated that for the national award to retain the prestige that it is accorded, recipients who conduct themselves in any dishonorable manner would be stripped of the national honour.

This, he added would be consistent with the stand of the present administration against all forms of corruption.

He assured that the combined investiture ceremony for the 2015 and 2016 National Honours Award would be held this year.

The Chairman of the newly inaugurated committee, former Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Alfa Belgore, expressed the appreciation of all members of the committee for the honour of appointing them and pledged that the committee would not disappoint the nation.

According to him, Nigeria is a great country and bestowing honour on any Nigerian in any grade must be acknowledged as a great national achievement.

Belgore promised that the committee would strive at all times to select the best for the national honours.

Membership of the reconstituted committee included Justice Mohammed Alfa Belgore (rtd) (chairman), Justice Umaru Kalgo (rtd) (member), Justice Isaac Aluyi (rtd) member.
Other members are Mrs. Bola Ogunriade, Nnema Josephine Ndukwu, Amb. Usman Gaji Galtimari, Chief Bassey Edem, Mr. Gabriel Afu, Amb. Nonye Udo, Mr. M. F. Abikoye, Mr. Y. M. Bichi, Mrs. Rasheedat Okoduwa, Mr. James A. Ibidapo, and Mr. Gabriel Loto who is the secretary.