FG Inaugurates Inter-ministerial C’ttee on 2024 Democracy Day Celebration

Olawale Ajimotokan in Abuja

The federal government has inaugurated an inter-ministerial committee comprising 17 members to organise a memorable and befitting 2024 Democracy Day Celebration.

The committee was inaugurated yesterday by the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Senator George Akume.

Akume said the commemoration of the Democracy Day was an opportunity to reflect on the contributions and sacrifices of national heroes and heroines who fought for the entrenchment of democratic rule in the country.

He added that the yearly celebration would afford the nation the avenue to showcase its achievements in dealing with myriads of the socio-economic challenges confronting the nation.

A World Press Briefing on June 6 will kick start the activities to commemorate the 2024 Democracy Day Celebration.

It will be followed by a Juma’at Service on June 7, a Church Service on June 9, a Symposium/Public Lecture on June 10 and the Presidential Broadcast alongside Parade on June 12.

In a statement yesterday, the Director, Information and Public Relations, OSGF, Segun Imohiosen said in order to ensure successful and hitch-free execution of the Celebration, the SGF inaugurated  11 Sub-Committees.

He listed them as: Church Service Sub-Committee; Juma’at Sub-Committee; Protocol Sub-Committee; Venue and Entertainment Sub-Committee; Medical Sub-Committee; Security Sub-Committee; Media and Publicity Sub-Committee; Parade Sub-Committee; Public Lecture/Symposium Sub-Committee, Accommodation Sub-Committee and Secretariat Sub-Committee.

The Committee, which is chaired  by the SGF has as members: the Minister of Information and National Orientation and his counterparts from Interior, Finance, Budget and Economic Planning; Foreign Affairs and the Federal Capital Territory.

The Committee also includes the Special Adviser to the President on Policy and Coordination; Special Adviser to the President on Information and Strategy; the Inspector-General of Police, Director-General, Department of State Services; Commander, Guards Brigade, Permanent Secretary, General Services Office and the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Health. The Permanent Secretary, Cabinet Affairs Office, will serve as the Secretary.

Related Articles