Benue Sets Up Taskforce on Prevention of Anthrax

George Okoh in Makurdi

Benue State Governor, Rev. Fr. Hyacinth Alia, has charged the taskforce on the prevention and control of anthrax disease set up by his government to do everything within their powers, to prevent the disease from entering Benue state.

The governor gave the charge when he inaugurated the committee, at the Benue State Government House, Makurdi, yesterday.

Anthrax disease said to be contracted through infected animals or contaminated animal products was first reported at a farm in Niger State, near the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja, on July 17, 2023.

The governor who described the fatal health implications the anthrax disease poses to both humans and animals, according to World Health Organisation, urged the Taskforce team to ensure effective public sensitisation on symptoms and necessary actions, and to also identify, isolate and institute immediate actions in suspected animals, humans and or the environment.

He equally charged the committee to ensure the vaccination of all cattle, sheep, goats, pigs in the state, just as he advised appropriate authorities on the control and prevention of the disease.

He also stressed the need to ensure strict monitoring of the state’s entry point for all livestock as well as to clear and issue right of passage on vehicles under inspection and collection of user/hazard fees for the state government.

He promised the taskforce of his administration’s necessary encouragement and logistics support to enable them succeed in their task.

In his response, the chairman of the Taskforce on the prevention and control of Anthrax disease in the state, Dr. Edward Amali, assured the governor of the team’s proactiveness, with a promise to do their best at supporting the government in this regard.

Other members of the taskforce are Dr. Ediga Achegbulu, Dr. Terungwa Ikye-Tor, Gabriel Sule, Dr. Joshua Abuku, Dr Emmanuel Atser, Dr. Gabriel Amase, Dr Igbabul Shembe Agela, Dr. Chile Tersoo, Dr. Tughgba Terzungwe, Dr. Nguavese Akange Eleye, Dr. Mike Tion, Dr. Kenneth Bem Iortyom, Dr. David Shehu, Dr. Ephraim Boya.

The members of the committee cut across the ministry of agriculture, ministry of health and human services, University of Agriculture, Federal Ministry of Agriculture as well as the Nigerian Police Force.

Related Articles