Odebode Elected New PCN President

The two-day Elective Congress of the Paralympic Committee Nigeria (PCN) has  in Asaba, Delta State with Mr. Sunday Odebode emerging as the new  President.

Odebode, a  seasoned sports administrator who contested on the platform of Para Table Tennis, polled 12 out of the total 19 votes cast to defeat three other contestants.

Mr Paul Maduakor, (President, amputee football) polled five votes, Mr. Charles Ezenwanne who is Powerlifting President secured only two votes while  Commissioner of Police (CP), Anderson Bankole( Para Table Tennis), had no vote.

In other elected positions, Shodipo  Ayinde Lateef (Tennis) was elected 1st vice president unoposed with 17 votes while Flora Ugwunwa(Para Athletics) scored 15 votes to also emerge as the 2nd vice president unopposed.

The incumbent Secretary General, Mr Issah Suleiman, retained his position. He scored 11 votes as against 8 votes polled by his challenger, Mr Kayode Ladele (President, Sitting  Volleyball). 

Mr Douglas Agbado was elected as Assistant Secretary General unopposed with 17  votes while Hon. Etti Olawale( President, Para Athletics) had 12 votes as against the 7 votes polled  by Hon Amobi Chikwendu Emmanuel( President Para Swimming) to emerge as treasurer.

Mr  Silver Ezeikpe, representing the South East region was also elected to the new board.

The newly elected board was immediately inaugurated by the Federal Ministry of Youth and Sports Development(FMYD).

In his acceptance speech, the newly elected President Odebode, said  he will involve the private sector and run an all-inclusive administration.

Sports Minister, Chief Sunday Dare, in his message to the new board, said his ministry believes so much in Para Sports which was why he came personally to inaugurate the board.  He advised the newly elected board to  hit the ground running as the Paris 2024 Paralympic qualifiers were already at hand.

Related Articles