Presidency Restricts Villa Coverage to 13 Media Houses


The Presidency has scaled down the coverage of the State House by media houses to only 13 in the wake of COVID-19 spread to the seat of power.

The Presidency said in a statement issued yesterday that the restrictions will be in place “until further notice as the coronavirus incident indicates.”

It said the decision was in compliance with the “social distancing” rule and accommodation of not more than 50 persons at any gathering.

The 13 media houses allowed to have access to the Villa henceforth are: Deutsche Welle, NTA, Channels TV, TVC, FRCN, VON, NAN, THISDAY, The Sun, Leadership, Daily Trust, The Guardian and Vanguard.

A statement by the Director of Information, State House, Mr. Attah Esa, said the Presidency had scaled down the number of staff in other departments as well, adding that “over 100” correspondents gathering for work daily was not in line with the social distancing rule and overcrowding.

The restrictions take effect from today.