Party Rejects Congresses in Four Edo Councils


The leadership of the All Progressives Congress in Edo State has rejected the list of elected executives from four of the 18 local government areas where parallel or no congresses were held during last Saturday in the state.

The affected local governments are Owan East, Owan West, Akoko-Edo and Ovia North East.

In Owan East, “no congress was held because of clash of interest between Deputy Whip of the House of Representatives, Hon Pally Iriase, and the council Chairman, Andrew Osigwe, backed by one Alhaji Lawani Ganiyu.

“Consequently two persons were injured during a fracas that ensued even as some APC leaders boycotted the local government congress in Egor Local Government Area for reasons yet to be stated.”

In Ovia North East, the party leaders said the parallel congress was as a result of the leaders agreeing on harmonisation and consensus which prompted the presentation of two lists of elected executives.

Similarly, the party leader alleged that parallel congresses were held in Owan West due to tussle between factions loyal to Prof. Julius Ihonvbere and former Deputy Governor, Reverend Peter Obadan, on one side and Hon Ojo Asein, member, representing the area at the state House of Assembly and council chairman, Frank Ilaboya, on the other side. 

On his part, Iriase said the way out of the lock jam in Owan East and elsewhere was for a few leaders to sit down and resolve the issue based on the directives of APC NEC that at the present zoning arrangement be retained.

Iriase, who insisted that no congress was held in Owan East because some persons rejected the present zoning arrangement, added that it was too late for positions to be rezoned at this time.

  However, in other parts of the state where the congresses were peaceful, Monday Osoh was elected Chairman of APC in Esan South East while Mr. Ogbejele Idojei was elected chairman of Esan North East Local Government Area.

Leader of the party in the locality, Prince Joe Okojie, said the peaceful congress has shown that the party has been repositioned for electoral victory. Okojie said the party members were happy that they were carried along during the consensus arrangement.  Similarly, in Ovia South West, Mr. Peter Ajayi was elected the chairman.