Re-election Campaign for Niger State Governor Begins


Laleye Dipo in Minna

Though the Niger state governor Alhaji Abubakar San Bello has not announced that he will seek a second term in office, the campaign for his re-election has already begun, with the Chairman of Mashegu local government area of the state, Alhaji Saidu Kaboji spearheading the process.

Alhaji Kaboji told a large gathering made up of mostly All Progressives Congress supporters, the governors political party on during the week that: “We have a pact with Alhaji Sani Bello and we should honour that agreement.

“Whether I am the chairman or not we should not forget that we promised governor Bello two terms in 2015, we should remember to honour our promise.”

Kaboji told the crowd that as far as he was concerned the governor had fulfilled his election promises to the people of the state, saying that “we should compensate him by giving him another mandate”.

The council boss acknowledged the transformation the state had witnessed in the last two and half years, insisting that no previous administration had performed better.

The chairman, who presented brand new cars to the district heads of Kaboji, Zugurma Tutu, and Mashegu and also distributed exercise books and writing materials to school pupils in the local government area, said part of the achievement of the governor was the direct release of funds to local governments.

“It is because we get money directly that we are able to execute people oriented development projects if we get more money we will do more for the people,” the council boss said.

The state chairman of the party, Alhaji Jibrin Imam who was at the ceremony however said the governor had not informed the party that he would seek re-election.

Imam said “In politics, people can say anything, the chairman was only expressing his opinion, we have not received such information from the governor”.

The APC chieftain commended the local government chairman for fulfilling his promises to the electorate adding that “he is one of our best performing chairmen”.