GTBank/Ogun State Principal’s Cup Final Holds Thursday


The final of the 2017 edition of the GTBank/Ogun State Principal’s Cup will hold today at the MKO Abiola Stadium, Kuto, Abeokuta, as first-time finalists take on former champions.

The curtain raiser for the day will be the finals in the female category between two-time winners, Muslim High School, Isolu and Iko Gateway Grammar School, Idi-Iroko.

In the male category, Ipara Community Secondary School, Ipara will hope to spring an upset as they take on title favourites, Pakoto High School, Ayede-Ifo who won the trophy in 2015.

The matches are bound to produce historic moments for two of the four schools as both jostle to win the trophy for the first time ever.

Outstanding players to watch out for in the male category of this year’s final include Olalekan Toheeb of Pakoto High School, who is the leading scorer of the tournament with three goals, and Sodiya Olaoluwa of Ipara Community Secondary School who won the Most Valuable Player award in the semifinals.

Winners in both categories will be rewarded with the sum of N1,000, 000 each, while the first, second and third runners-up will be given N750,000, N500,000, and N350,000 respectively.

Commenting on the finals, the MD/CEO of GTBank , Segun Agbaje, said, “We are proud to lead this initiative that provides an avenue for students to showcase their talents and passion for the game of football even as they remain committed to their academics.”