NPFL…NPFL…NPFL… Plateau Utd Suffers Setback against Enyimba


*MFM FC ends Ifeanyiubah’s eight-match unbeaten run

By Duro Ikhazuagbe

Plateau United suffered a setback in its quest to nip the 2016/2017 Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) title Sunday in Calabar as it lost 0-1 to Enyimba FC in a match-day 22 clash.
Andrew Abalogu’s 20-yard lone strike in the 68th minutes beat Dele Ajiboye in goal for the visitors from Jos.

The Enyimba full back was stretchered off later on following what looked like an ankle sprain but his contribution was enough to seal victory for the former Champions in an otherwise feisty contest decided at the U.J Esuene Stadium.
Despite the defeat, Plateau United remains at the driver’s seat of the topflight on 39 points. The Jos team is two points ahead of MFM FC who leapfrogged El Kanemi to the second spot with the 1-0 defeat of FC Ifeanyiubah at the Agege Stadium. MFM’s victory ended Ifeanyiubah’s eight matches unbeaten run.
El Kanemi dropped to the third position on the log on 36 points after losing 1-2 away to Wikki Tourists in Bauchi.

Elsewhere, Nasarawa was forced to a 1-1 draw by Rangers International at the Nnamdi Azikiwe Stadium in Enugu. Former junior international, Thomas Zenke, edged the Lafia landlords in front. The Flying Antelopes who have lost their magic at the Cathedral, were rescued by Godwin Agada.
Nasarawa United’s Head Coach Kabir Dogo described as good result the score draw at champions, Enugu Rangers.
Dogo told that both sides gave their very best performance in the clash as showed in the outcome of the crunch encounter.
“It’s a good result against the defending champions, Enugu Rangers right there at their backyard.

“It was a good game for both sides, we got our own chance at goal and were able to make it count positively.
“Enugu Rangers had theirs, too and actually made a maximal use of it to keep the scores at one goal apiece. It’s interesting that both legs of the matches in Lafia and Enugu ended one goal apiece for the sides.

Rangers 1-1 Nassarawa
Enyimba 1-0 Plateau Utd
Katsina Utd 1-0 Abia Warriors
Kano Pillars 2-1 Lobi stars
MFM FC 1-0 Ifeanyi Ubah
ABS FC 2-1 Tornadoes
Shooting 1-0 Sunshine
Remo Stars 2-0 Gombe Utd
Wikki 2-1 El Kanemi