FG Ends Appointment Drought, Names New Heads for 13 Agencies


Olawale Ajimotokan in Abuja

The drought of federal appointments receded monday, as President Muhammadu Buhari approved the appointment of chief executives for 13 parastatals and agencies.

A statement by the Director of Press, Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (OSGF), Mr. Bolaji Adebiyi, indicated that the president appointed Alhaji Usman Abubakar as Chairman of Nigerian Railway Corporation (NRC).

Others who got jobs in the fresh wave of appointments are: Princess Gloria Akobundu, named as the National Coordinator and Chief Executive of New Partnership for Africa’s Development (NEPAD); Mr. Ahmed Bobboi, Executive Secretary, Petroleum Equalisation Fund (PEF); and Mr. Mamman Amadu, Director General, Bureau of Public Procurement (BPP).

According to the OSGF, the president also appointed Mr. Joseph Ari as Director-General, Industrial Training Fund (ITF); Ms. Sharon Ikeazor, Director-General, Pension Transitional Arrangement Directorate (PTAD); Dr. Isa Ali Ibrahim, the Director-General, National Information Technology Development Agency (NITDA); and Mr. Osita Aboloma, Director-General, Standards Organisation of Nigeria (SON).

Mr. Simbi Wabote was named the Executive Secretary of Nigerian Content Monitoring Board (NCMB), while Mr. Umana Okon Umana becomes the Managing Director, Oil and Gas Free Zone Authority.
Ms. Sa’adiya Faruq is the new Federal Commissioner for National Commission for Refugees, Migrants and Internally Displaced Persons; while Ms. Yewande Sadiku will hold sway as Executive Secretary, Nigeria Investment Promotion Commission (NIPC).

At the Petroleum Technology Development Fund (PTDF), Dr. Bello Aliyu Gusau got the president’s assent as the Executive Secretary of the agency.