JTF Releases 5 Workers Seized for Pipeline Bombing


Monday Osayande in Warri

THE Joint Task Force, JTF, on Wednesday night released the five pipeline surveillance workers detained in connection with the bombing of a pipeline belonging to Chevron Nigeria Limited, CNL, at Makaraba community, Gbaramatu clan, Warri South-West Local Government Area, Delta State.

Those released are Samuel Emiko and Alfred Timedi, ( Itsekiri) and Isaac Edinde, Henry Arogboritse and Kelvin Mordi (Ijaw), arrested by soldiers while on surveillance duty for a contractor to Chevron.

They were arrested last Friday at their place of work.

Acting Secretary, Gbaramatu Council of Chief,Chief Godspower Gbenekama, confirmed their release. “Yes, I am aware that they released them on Wednesday night, I want to thank you people in the media for crying out for us,” he said.

A source close to JTF said the released workers were asked to report next Wednesday for further briefing.

According to the sourse, “The 19th Battalion, Nigerian Army, Koko, handed them over to the Delta State Police Command, Asaba, from where they moved them to Bayelsa State and released them on Wednesday.”

It was learnt that their release was facilitated by Chevron officials to avoid a backlash against the company following a 72-hour ultimatum by its seven Gbaramatu-Ijaw host communities when they met with their families on Wednesday in Warri, and assured them that the company was handling the matter.