Olawale-Cole Elected LCCI President


Gilbert Ekugbe

The Lagos Chamber of Commerce and Industry (LCCI) has elected Michael Olawale-Cole as its new president, to steer the ship of the Chamber and take charge of its affairs over the next two years.

The Chamber in a statement signed by its Director General, Chinyere Almona, stated that the election followed the expiration of Mrs. Toki Mabogunje’s tenure of office, after she meritoriously served the Chamber in the same capacity for two years.

The Director General explained: “Asiwaju Dr. Michael Olawale-Cole emerged as President after a duly conducted election at the Chamber’s 133rd Annual General Meeting (AGM). Asiwaju Dr. Michael Olawale-Cole, a two-time Former Commissioner for Finance and Economic Development, as well as Works and Transport in Lagos State, is an astute boardroom executive who has served the Chamber previously in various capacities such as Deputy President, Vice President, Chairperson, Public Affairs Committee, Chairperson, Financial &General Purposes Committee among others.”

She added: “Indeed, we are very pleased as Asiwaju Dr. Michael Olawale-Cole assumes the role of President of LCCI. As a Council Member and a key Officer of the Chamber, he has brought his extensive knowledge and experience to bear and has provided inspirational leadership and direction for the success of the Chamber.

“His emergence as the President will enhance the Chamber’s role as the leading public policy advocate, promoting and protecting the interest of its members and the business community at large.”

Olawale-Cole, is an accomplished Business Mogul of repute and the Founder of Colenson Group of Companies. He is an Alumnus of the prestigious University of Lagos; University of Cambridge; South West London College; All Saints University of America and Harvard Business School, USA. He is also a Past President of the Nigerian British Chamber of Commerce (NBCC); Nigerian Institute of Management (NIM); University of Lagos Alumni Association and Former District Governor of Rotary for District 9110.
He is to be formally inaugurated as the 24th President of the Chamber on December 4, 2021, at an investiture ceremony to hold in Lagos.