House Confirms New Service Chiefs’ Appointment

By Udora Orizu

The House of Representatives at plenary on Tuesday, confirmed the appointments of the new service chiefs nominated by President Muhammadu Buhari.

The confirmation followed a unanimous adoption of the report laid by the chairman of the screening committee set up by the House to screen the nominees.

Buhari, had on January 26, 2021, heeded the calls of parliament and Nigerians to replace the previous service chiefs.

He thereafter wrote to both chambers of the National Assembly for confirmation of the nominees.

The nominees are Major-General Lucky Irabor, Chief of Defence Staff; Major-General I. Attahiru, Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral A.Z Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff; and Air-Vice Marshal I.O Amao, Chief of Air Staff.

They are replacing the former Chief of Defence Staff, Gen. Abayomi Olonisakin; Chief of Army Staff, Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai; Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas; and Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar.

The Chairman of the committee, Hon. Babajimi Benson, who laid the report, said the nominees were thoroughly screened by the lawmakers.

Related Articles