PDP Wins All LG Seats in Ebonyi


By Benjamin Nworie

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Ebonyi State Chapter, has cleared all the 13 local government chairmanship positions and the 171 councillorship seats in the state local government election.

The election, which was earlier scheduled to hold in March but was conducted on August 29, witnessed massive turnout of voters and was adjudged free and fair.

The chairman of Ebonyi State Independent Electoral Commission (EBSIEC), Mr Jossy Eze, who announced the results in Abakiliki said that a total of 13 political parties participated in the election.

The 13 elected chairmen include: Hon. Mr. Sunday Eze (Ishielu); Mr. Eni Uduma Chima (Afikpo North); Mrs. Nora Aloh (Ezza North); Mr. Ken Eze (Ezza South); Mr. Clement Odah (Ohaukwu); Mr. Paul Nwogha (Izzi); Mrs. Chinyere Nwogbaga (Ebonyi); Mr. Felix Igboke (Onicha) and Mrs. Chinyere Iyioku (Ohaozara).

Others are Mr. Steve Orogwu ( Ikwo); Mr. Emmanuel Nwangele (Abakaliki); Mr. Onyebuchi (Ivo) and Mr. Obiageri Oko (Enyim).

The Ebonyi State Governor, Mr. David Umahi, said he was satisfied with the peaceful conduct of the election and commended the electoral commission for organising the free, fair and credible elections.

The elected Chairman of Ishielu Council Area, Hon. Eze, also expressed satisfaction with the turnout of voters and the transparent conduct of the election. He noted that the outcome of the election was a clear testimony of the PDP’s strong