Bagudu Inaugurates 16-member Community Policing Advisory Cttee

Abubakar Atiku Bagudu

Onuminya Innocent in Sokoto

The Kebbi State Governor, Senator Abubakar Atiku Bagudu, on Monday inaugurated a 16-member state Community Policing Advisory Committee to further bolster the security of lives and properties in the state.

The committee is headed by the state Commissioner of Police, Mr Agunbiade Oluyemi Lasore, with the Emir of Gwandu, Alhaji Muhammdu Ilyasu Bashar as the Co-Chairman.

Speaking shortly after inaugurating the committee, Bagudu stressed the need for the involvement of the various communities in the state in ensuring the safety of lives and properties of the citizenry.

The governor said that the concept of community policing is now the vogue globally, hence, it is highly exciting to have it in Nigeria.

“President Muhammadu Buhari deserves myriad of accolades for approving the initiative.

“Same goes to the IGP and his team for initiating the community policing and providing a workable concept that is globally practised,” he said.

The governor further stated that community policing blends the police with the communities as well as ensures mutual responsibilities.

Bagudu noted that with community policing, both the police and the communities will ensure lasting peace and unity in the society.

“The community can also diligently protect itself from crimes, criminality and other sundry social vices in the society.

“Everyone is therefore responsibly carried along in this direction and this is a good omen for enhanced security.

“Luckily, Kebbi State has a rich history of Emirates system, with each Emirate being headed by highly experienced emirs who are also diligent and hugely committed to peace and security.

“Whatever government is doing is to build on what they are doing to sustain security,” he stated.

He recalled that the National Bureau of Statistics (NBS) had two years ago declared the state as the most peaceful state in Nigeria, adding that this was a plus for community policing.

Earlier, in his welcome address, the Commissioner of Police in the state, Lasore, who is the chairman of the committee, described Kebbi State as the most peaceful state in the country, attributing it to the peaceful nature and hospitality of people in the state and purposeful leadership of Governor Bagudu.

He said the implementation of the Community Policing Policy by the Inspector General of Police (IG) Muhammad Abubakar Adamu marks the beginning of conferring ownership of policing on the community, thus the communities become the owners of their own police.

“The fundamental feature of community policing lies on the fact it fosters and promotes inclusive and interactive relationship between the police, other security agencies and the community, thereby instilling trust and confidence as well as encouraging and promoting partnership, transparency, accountability and problem solving relating to deviant behaviours and criminality in our communities,” he said.

In his short remarks also, the Emir of Gwandu and Chairman, Kebbi State Council of Chiefs, Alhaji Bashar, who is the co-chairman of the committee, thanked Governor Bagudu for giving him the opportunity to serve in the committee and expressed delight that Kebbi remains the most peaceful state in the country promising to sustain the peaceful nature of the state.

The Deputy Inspector General of Police, North-west zone, DIG Abduldahiru Danwawu, commended the IG for coming up with the initiative of implementing community policing in Nigeria.

He pointed out that the end result of the community policing initiative would go a long way in checking criminality including social vices.

The 16 member committee include CP Lasore as Chairman, Emir of Gwandu, HRH Bashar, as the Co-Chairman, while others are S.U Gambo, Director Security Services; Maj. M. T. Abdulrahman, Commanding Officer (Rear) 1BN Dukku Barracks; Maj. B.M. Abdullahi, Commanding Officer, 223 LT BN Zuru; Sammani M. Ringim, Commandant Civil Defence; CC, Dan-Asabe Shehu Lawal, Sector Commander Federal Road Safety Corps; Y.N Garba, Comptroller of Customs; M.A Lawal, Controller of Immigration Service; Abu Sanu, Controller Correctional Services; Odaudu Peter, Commander of NDLEA; Safiyanu Garba, Permanent Secretary Special Service Department; Lawal Muhammad Augie, Commander VGN; Alhaji Ibrahim Hassan Kwaido, Kundudan Kabi; Alhaji Mu’azu Namallam, Galadiman Yauri; Alhaji Mukhtar Musa, chiefdom of Wasagu; Alhaji Umaru Ahmed G/Gaji, Chairman PCRC; RV.Dr.Ayuba Kanta, CAN Chairman.