Adamawa Governorship Supplementary Election to Hold in 14 LGAs

Mahmood Yakubu
Chairman of INEC, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) yesterday said the governorship supplementary election scheduled for March 23 in Adamawa State, would be conducted in 14 local government areas of the state.

The state Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC), Mr Kasim Gaidam,  told the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) in Yola that the election would be conducted in 29 Wards (Registration Areas) and 44 Polling Units where over 40,000 votes were earlier cancelled in the recent governorship selection.

“The commission had prepared for the supplementary governorship election in the state. The election is going to be conducted in 14 LGAs, 29 Wards and 44 Polling Units spread across the state,” Gaidam said.

He listed the local areas to include Yola South, Fufore, Ganye, Girei, Guyuk and Hong.

Others are Lamurde, Numan, Madagali, Michika, Mubi North, Shelleng, Song and Toungo  local government areas.

Gaidam, however, explained that the election was declared inconclusive as provided by law based only on official registered voters, not Permanent Voters Cards collected or accredited voters.

He said: “Other figures being circulated should be disregarded as only report released by the Returning Officer should be considered.”

It could be recalled that the results of the governorship election announced by INEC Returning Officer, Prof. Andrew Haruna shows that the PDP candidate, Ahmadu Fintiri scored  367,472 votes, while a total of 334,995 votes scored by  incumbent governor, Muhammad Bindow, the APC candidate.

The margin between them was 32,476 votes.