Gaya, Jibrin Retain Senatorial Seats in Kano


Two incumbent Senators from Kano state have retained their seats following their victory in the Saturday’s National Assembly elections.

The two Senators are: Sen. Barau Jibril-Maliya representing Kano North Senatorial district and Sen. Kabiru Gaya, who is representing Kano South Senatorial district.

Announcing the results of National Assembly elections, the returning officer for Kano North Senatorial district, Prof. Ali Tijjani-Abdullahi said on Monday that the APC senatorial candidate, Barau Jibril-Maliya scored 286,419 votes to defeat the PDP candidate, Alhaji Ahmed Garba-Bichi, who polled 155, 638 votes.

Similarly, the returning officer for Kano South Senatorial district, Prof. Ibrahim Barde of the Bayero University Kano declared the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, Kabiru Gaya as the winner of the election in the Kano South Senatorial seat.

Barde said Gaya secured 319,004 votes to defeat the PDP candidate, Alhaji Abdullahi Sani-Rogo who got 217,520 votes.

Meanwhile, the collation of results for the Kano Central Senatorial zone is ongoing at the collation Centre. (NAN)