Ajimobi Loses Senatorial Bid to PDP

Abiola Ajimobi

By Kemi Olaitan in Ibadan

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), candidate for Oyo South Senatorial District, Dr. Muhammed Kola Balogun, has defeated Governor Abiola Ajimobi to clinch the senatorial seat.

Balogun defeated Ajimobi who contested under the platform of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), in the National Assembly election held on Saturday.

Ajimobi whose second term in office will lapse on May 29, 2019 had earlier represented the district between 2003 and 2007 under the platform of Alliance for Democracy (AD).

The election result was declared at the Agodi gate, headquarters of Ibadan North Local Government Area, which served as the collation centre for the district.

Professor Wole Akinsola, a former Dean, Faculty of Education, University of Ibadan, declared the results Monday morning.

Akinsola declared that Balogun, a former Commissioner for Commerce and Cooperatives in the state scored a total of 105,720 votes to defeat Ajimobi who secured 92,218.

He announced that the incumbent Senator, Mr. Soji Akanbi of ADC scored 49,437 while ADP candidate, Dr. Fola Akinosun got 13,149 votes.