Zone Odogbolu Constituency Slot to Alekun, Stakeholders Urges APC

A group, Concerned Odogbolu Stakeholders (COS), of Odogbolu Local Government Area of Ogun State, have appealed to the ruling All Progressives Congress to zone the state House of Assembly seat for the area in 2019 to Alekun.

The group argued that zoning the seat to Alekun in 2019 would effectively address the problem of marginalisation that had been confronting the town, which is one of the three segments making up the Odogbolu Constituency.

The COS Chairman, Adewale Bada, in a communique jointly signed by the Secretary, Adedamola Lawal, and Comrade Dauda Adelakun, appealed to the leaders of the APC in the area and the state, including Otunba Babatunde Onakoya (aka Debasco), Asiwaju Olajide Awosedo, Chief (Mrs.) Oyinkansola Cole and others to prevail on the ruling party to endeavour to give Alekun the opportunity to produce the next representative of Odogbolu Constituency in the state House of Assembly.

The stakeholders said that since the return to democratic rule in 1999, Alekun remained the only segment of the three segments in Odogbolu Constituency that had not produced any representative for the area in the state House of Assembly.

The COS argued that the Assembly seats in many local government areas in the state were usually rotated amongst the various segments making up the area, stressing that that of Odogbolu should not be different.

According to the stakeholders, “Let us give a brief analysis. In 1999 to 2003, the representative in the House of Assembly was from Ifesowapo, and that was Hon.Kayode Odukoya. In 2003 to 2007, it was Hon. Remmy Hassan and up till 2015. He is from the Leguru axis. He spent two terms.

“In 2015, another candidate emerged again from Leguru and that was Hon Adebowale Ojuri, who is there till date. We, the above mentioned stakeholders are foot soldiers and aggressive politicians who worked for the emergence of the All Progressives Congress in the constituency and the state in general.

“We are now appealing to our leaders to, please, direct the party hierarchy to zone the slot in 2019 to Alekun to avoid another marginalisation in 2019. Our motto is ‘Fair and Objective.’ By doing this, we know 2019 will be easier for our party to win landslide victory.

“We assure the party that if they zone the House of Assembly seat to Alekun, 80 per cent of the votes in the area will be delivered in 2019.”

The COS also commended Governor Ibikunle Amosun for the success of his Mission to Rebuild Ogun State programme, which it said had changed the face of the state in terms of infrastructural development.

It noted that the legacies of the Amosun administration must be sustained by his successor, adding that the people of the state would never forget the impact of the incumbent governor on their lives.

The stakeholders also congratulated Amosun on the victory recorded by the APC candidate in the Ekiti State governorship election, Dr. Kayode Fayemi.

It stated that the role played by Governor Amosun in ensuring that all the states in the South West come under the APC would never be forgotten.

Related Articles