11Years After, Oyo LG Polls Hold Today


Eleven years after the December, 2007 local government election in Oyo State, history will be made today as the State Independent Electoral Commission (OYSIEC), said all arrangements had been concluded to return the third tier of government to full-fledged democratic administration after series of caretaker arrangements. Though 12 political parties are participating in today’s election, the major opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) is boycotting this election sequel to a court case the party is pursuing against the conduct of the poll.

A faction of the ruling party, under the banner of Oyo APC Unity Forum has also instituted a court case against the conduct of today’s election. There are however no impediment to the election as a court on Thursday vacated an earlier order granted by a Federal high court restraining the OYSIEC from conducting election into some newly created wards in Ibarapaland. To this end, the Chairman of the electoral umpire, Jide Ajeigbe announced that his commission would conduct election in 4,783 polling units and 5,260 polling points in today’s local government election in the state.