ENL Wins ‘Maritime Operator of the Year’ Award  


ENL Consortium Nigeria Limited has emerged the Most Outstanding Maritime Operator of the Year 2017 at the Independent Awards organised by Independent Newspapers.

ENL Consortium, which is the operator of Terminals C and D of the Lagos Port Complex Apapa, was one of the 27 recipients at the prestigious awards held in Lagos recently.

The award is coming on the heels of a similar honour bestowed on the company when it won the Port and Container Terminal Development Award at the prestigious Seatrade International Award held in Dubai, United Arab Emirates.

The Executive Vice Chairman/CEO of ENL Consortium, Vicky Haastrup, who dedicated the award to “all the hardworking management and staff” of the company, said all hands must be on deck to promote the development of the maritime sector.

Haastrup, who doubles as the Chairman of Seaport Terminal Operators Association of Nigeria (STOAN), said ENL Consortium has made substantial investment in human and material resources to enable the country realise the benefits of port concession.

“We have good people working with us and I am happy to dedicate this award t all of them – the hardworking, committed and patriotic staff of ENL Consortium, who work day and night to ensure that ships are promptly discharged and cargoes are delivered in good time to their owners.

“When we came into the port in 2006, the terminals handed over to us to manage were at ground zero. Nothing was working. The equipment were not functional, there were endless ship queues even as touts called the shot. The morale of workers was at its lowest ebb”, she said.

Haastrup pointed out that notwithstanding the success recorded by the federal government’s port concessioning programme, the dilapidated state of the port access road remains a huge challenge to the Nigerian maritime industry.

The Managing Director of Independent Newspapers, Mr. Ade Ogidan, said the awards were organised to recognise and honour individuals and corporate organisations that have made significant contributions to the development of Nigeria.

He said the award winners emerged through a painstaking process, which ensured that only those who have excelled and are outstanding in their various spheres of endeavours, were honoured.