Luxury Bus, Lorry Collision Leave 5 Dead, 23 Injured


By Omon-Julius Onabu in Asaba

An early morning accident involving an Abuja-bound luxury bus and a Mercedes Benz 911 lorry on Friday left five persons dead while 23 others sustained injuries.  

The head-on collision occurred on the dilapidated Anwai-Illah Road, near Asaba, the Delta State capital at about 4 o’clock in the morning.

 According to the Director of Operations, Delta State Command of the Federal Road Safety Corps (FRSC), Mrs. Uche Chukwurah, a total of 35 persons were involved in the crash but seven of them escaped unhurt.

Chukwurah said that the luxury bus belonging to a renowned private transport company, ‘Young Shall Grow’, was coming from Port Harcourt enroute Abuja when the accident occurred.

 She attributed the accident to “speed violation”, adding that both motorists were traveling at very odd hours and urged other motorists to always adhere to traffic rules and avoid night journey.

 The remains of the five deceased victims of the accident have been deposited at the mortuary at the Federal Medical Centre (FMC) Asaba while the injured were rushed to two hospitals, St. Joseph Catholic Hospital and St. Rebecca Hospital.


The Anwai-Illah road, which was a federal road until a few weeks ago when the Federal Government handed the ownership and maintenance of the strategic road to Delta State, has for long been in very deplorable condition despite the claims of rehabilitation less than two years ago by Federal Road Maintenance Agency (FERMA).


Meanwhile, 21 officers of the state command of the FRSC who were recently promoted have been decorated with their new ranks during a brief ceremony in Asaba where the Sector Commander, Mr. Rindom Kumven charged them to remain dedicated to the service of the commission and the nation.


Two of the officers were decorated with the rank of Deputy Corps Commander while two others were decorated with the rank of Assistant Corps Commander.


Also, one officer was decorated with the rank of Route Commander while the other 16 were decorated with the rank of Deputy Route Commander.