NSA: Organisers Reveals Nominees for Special Sports Categories


Barely a month to the 2016 edition of the Nigerian Sports Award, the organisers have released another set of shortlisted nominees for the 5th edition of the award.

According to the Chairman of the Award Panel, Mr. Ikeddy Isiguzo, the panel has concluded plans to give out recognition awards to deserving former sportsmen and women as well as sports management bodies as part of the activities lined up in commemoration of the fifth anniversary of the award.

Speaking on the shortlisted nominees for other categories, Isiguzo revealed three members of Team Nigeria’s power-lifting squad to the 2016 Paralympics Games in Brazil – Ezuruike Roland, Kehinde Paul and Innocent Nnamdi as those who made the shortlist of the Special Sports Person of the Year (Men).

The duo of Ezuruike Roland and Kehinde Paul won gold in the 54kg and 65kg categories respectively while Innocent Nnamdi won bronze in the 72kg power-lifting event.
For the Special Sports Person of the Year (Women), three power-lifters – Bose Omolayo, Orji Josephine, Ejike Lucy and two field athletes – Onye Lauretta and Ugwunwa Flora made the shortlist.

The trio of Bose Omolayo, Orji Josephine and Ejike Lucy won gold in the 79kg, 86kg and 61kg power-lifting event respectively while Onye Lauretta won gold in the F40 Shot Put event and Ugwunwa Flora won gold in the F53/54 Javelin Throw.

The nomination list was compiled from members of the public through the various nomination platforms. The prestigious Nigerian Sports Award is slated to hold on the 2nd of December 2016, at Eko Hotel& and Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos.