Amosun Dismisses Labour Leaders


Sheriff Balogun in Abeokuta

Ogun State Governor, Senator Ibikunle Amosun, has dismissal labour leaders in the state, including the state Chairman of the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC), Akeem Ambali, his deputy and the state Chairman of the Nigerian Union of Teachers (NUT), Dare Ilekoya and 14 others

Those dismissed were A.O Oshin, Nola Balogun, Eniola Atiku, Solaru.O, Adebanjo.T, Akinola.A.S, Oyolola .S.A, Obafemi. O.B, Ogunsola Peter, Akinlade.S.A, Christopher.T.A,Ogunrombi A.A, Azeez.K.I and Taiwo A.O.

The state governor also recommended the suspension of the following labour leaders: Odusanya S.A, Comrade Akapo, Adegbesan J.O, Adelami S.I, Obadara O, Ogunnuga O.A, Ayokambi T.A, Tijani A.A, Adegbesan J.O, Idowu A.O, Olaifa O.A, Bayo Lasore, Ahmodu S.A, Oludotun Oliyide, Tijani Y.A, Awode I.A, Dada O.A and Adesanya Abiola.

This was contained in a report by a panel of inquiry set up to investigate the alleged misconduct of executive members of the NUT on the 2016 World Teachers’ Day celebration, held on October 5, at the NUT Hall, Kuto, Abeokuta.

The recommendations of the panel signed by the Head of Service, Sola Adeyemi, was approved by the state government for immediate implementation.

It was gathered that the state government set up an administrative panel of inquiry to look into complaints received from concerned members of the public against the affected officers for their alleged involvement in various acts of misconduct and contravention of extant regulations during the celebration.

The NLC chairman, who was until his dismissal a deputy director, Community and Social Development, Sagamu Local Government, was alleged to have been the brain behind the political campaign rally during the celebration.

He was accused of making inflammable and scandalous remarks against the state government, which could cause breach of peace in the state.

They were dismissed from service having been found guilty of contravening the Public Service Rules 04401,04421(c&d) and 04406(a).

The state government directed appropriate the agencies of the state, Ogun State Local Government Service Commission, State Universal Basic Education Board (SUBEB) and the Teaching Service Commission (TESCOM) to implement the recommendations with immediate effect.