EFCC Prosecution: FCTA Suspends 13 Officers


Olawale Ajimotokan in Abuja

The Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Administration has ratified the suspension of 13 officers facing prosecution by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC).

The order was made friday by FCT Permanent Secretary, Dr. Babatope Ajakaiye, citing the Public Service Rule 030406, which states, “where a prima facie case, the nature of which is serious, has been established against an officer and it is considered necessary in the public interest that he/she should forthwith be prohibited from carrying out his/her duties, pending the determination of the case”.

In a statement signed FCTA Deputy Director, Media Muhammad Hazat Sule, Ajakaiye said it was expedient to suspend the officials, who are mainly of the Directorate level officers, in compliance with the extant civil service rules.

It was learnt that, the anti-corruption agency, arrested and prosecuted the officials for financial irregularities. The affected officers and their designation are: Suleiman Idris – Assistant Director, Transportation Secretariat; Idris Usman – Assistant Director, Engineering Services Department, FCDA; Mohammed Ishaq – Chief Planning Officer, Urban & Regional Planning Department; Helen Olokpo – Principal Town Planning Officer, Urban & Regional Planning Department; Bamidele Olaitan – Principal Education Officer, Education Secretariat;Ambrose Samchi – Principal Accountant, Treasury Services Department; Hassan Argungu – Principal Land Officer, AGIS; Saba Mohammed – Senior Data Officer, AGIS; Yusuf Baba – Senior Administrative Officer, AGIS; Abdullahi Musa – Senior Administrative Officer, Deeds Registrar’s Office; Abraham Murtala Belel – Senior Accountant, Treasury Services Department; Andrew Gwani – Land Officer and Abdulmalik Teina – Senior Accountant, Treasury Services Department.