NFL legend, Okoye, Mike Powell, Others for NIAA Convention

The 2016 Nigerian International Athletes Association (NIAA) convention will be a gathering of sports stars from across the globe according to the official programme of the event released by association’s President, Professor Grace Apiafi.
Former NFL star Christian Okoye, world record holder in long jump Mike Powell, Seoul ’88
Olympics gold medalist in 400m hurdles Andre Phillips, 400m winner at the same games Steve Lewis, Canadian sprinter Ben Johnson and Barcelona 92 bronze medalist Beatrice Utodu-Okoye are a few of the former sports stars that will attend the event.
The convention is slated for October 8, 2016 at Doubletree Hotel, North Vineyard, Ontario,
According to Professor Apiafi, Okoye who is founder and president California Sports Hall of Fame will be a special guest. Okoye started his sports career in track and field before switching to American Football in 1987; he played for Kansas City Chiefs between 1987 and
Okoye was known for his powerful running style and ability to break tackles had  six seasons in the NFL saw a league rushing title in 1989, two Pro B
He was selected by UPI as the American Football Conference’s Offensive Player of the Year and earned a trip to Hawaii for the Pro Bowl. Canadian sprinter Johnson will be signing books at the banquet and gala in the evening.
Powell, the world record holder in long jump, two- time world champion and two-time Olympic silver medalist will grace the occasion to lend his support to track and field in Nigeria and Africa.
Other track starts expected at the convention include Chidi Imoh, Innocent Egbunike, Adewale Olukoju and a host of other former Nigerian athletes based in the United States.
Apiafi restated that the focus of the NIAA going forward is to provide needy and disadvantaged youths in Nigeria with the resources and support to achieve their God given potential in education and sports while brining honor and glory to their country. Also, four members of the Association of Nigerian Physicians in the Americas will be honoured at the event