Aregbesola, Ooni, Melaye, Others Receive HOG’s Commendation


Mary Ekah
For their patriotic efforts geared towards reviving democracy and repositioning the country, Governor Rauf Aregbesola, revered monarch, Ooni of Ife and Senator Dino Melaye and other distinguished Nigerians would be receiving commendation in from of garlands recognising their patriotic roles to the nation.

Organised by Hall of Grace (HOG), magazine, the award, which grand custodian is two- term Honourable Minister of Youths and Sports, Chief Alex Akinyele, will hold today, August 21, at the Summit centre in Alausa, Lagos.

Garlands celebrating graceful and purposeful leadership and sacrifice to the nation would be given to Governors of Anambra and Osun States, Willie Obiano and Rauf Aregbesola, Ooni of Ife, imperial majesty Oba Adeyeye Enitan Ogunwusi, Aare Afe Babalola, (SAN), founder of Afe Babalola University, Senator Dino Melaye, Senator Representing Kogi West Federal Constituency, Kogi State and Professor Dupe Olatunbosun among others.

Olatunbosun would be delivering a public speech entitled, “Growing Nigerian Democracy: The Way Forward,’ bordering on the need to strengthen our fledgling democracy Managing custodian of the award and publisher of HOG magazine, Mr. Rupert Ojenuwa, said the reasons for garlanding the nominated Nigerians: “The HOG award has come a long way and we thank God that the mission behind the award is still intact. The reason why every year, we gather leaders who have distinguished themselves in position of authority and honour them is because we think that Nigeria should be better than this.

Sadly, a common practice among leaders in Africa is that a public or corporate office leader would be in office for years without performing, unlike in the developed countries where people in positions of authority do perform admirably. So, when we see one or two leaders here who distinguished themselves by doing the right thing with a view to make things better, we deem it fit to encourage such leaders with this honour so that they would be proud to do more and also inspire others to emulate them.

Senator Dino Melaye, Governor Willie Obiano, Governor Rauf Aregbesola, Ooni of Ife, Oba, Professor Dupe Olatunbosun and Aare Afe Babalola, founder of the Afe Babalola University, Ado-Ekiti, amongst others are those to be honored today in Lagos.
The organisers explained that Melaye is being honoured for speaking out againts powers that are threatening the sustenance of democracy while governors Aregbesola and Obiano, are being warded for the massive developmental projects being embarked upon in their various states.

For Ooni of ife, he is said to actually enjoys prominence as the number one of all the monarchs in Yoruba land, who instead of taking on the mantle of ‘I’m the eldest of all, or the head of all of you’, has rather taken up the humble burden of going round to mend fences, settling disputes, reaching out to other monarchs, institutions with a view to ensure that there is peace and stability in the land.

As a result of this, the awards organisers think he has become an example and role model for others. Aare Babalola on the other hand has over the years distingusihed himself as an African icon who has done not only Nigeria but also African proud. He is foremost in developing education, agriculture and even the Law profession in Africa.