Nigerian Breweries, FG Partner on Teacher of The Year Award


Determined to give its annual Maltina Teacher of the Year Award more value and to make it more relevant to teachers in different parts of Nigeria, Nigerian Breweries Plc has formalised its partnership with the Federal Ministry of Education as they plan to sign a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) on how the scheme could be more beneficial to target audience.

This was agreed when a delegation from Nigerian Breweries Plc paid a courtesy visit on Prof. Anthony Anwukah, Minister of State for Education in Abuja last week.

Victor Famuyibo, Human Resources Director, who led the NB delegation said that the concept of Maltina Teacher of the Year Award was conceived with a view to giving back to the society as part of the company’s corporate social responsibility through the NB/Felix Ohiwerei Education Trust Fund.

He explained that the MoU was necessary to put in perspective the cordial relationship existing NB and the Ministry. Famuyibo disclosed that since the NB/Felix Ohiwerei Education Trust Fund was inaugurated, NB had assisted over 20,000 students, built over 250 classrooms and 22 libraries in both primary and secondary schools across 49 communities in the country.

Famuyibo stated that NB Plc was impressed with the quantity and quality of entries Teachers usually turn in for the Maltina Teacher of the Year awards.

Responding, Anwukah commended NB Plc for its support for the education sector, saying that the Maltina Teacher of the Year award is a commendable way of motivating teachers.

The minister therefore promised that the government would reciprocate the good gesture of the NB. Anwukah consequently directed the relevant departments to quickly work out the MoU in order to have a defined platform for collaboration.

The Maltina Teacher of the Year initiative is aimed at recognising and celebrating exceptional teachers in Nigeria.

The initiative is opened to teachers in all secondary schools across the country.

Champions from each state of the federation and the FCT will compete at the grand finale, where the overall winner will emerge.