Akwa Ibom Selects 15 Coastal LGAs for Flood Sensitisation Campaign


By Okon Bassey

Worried by the warning of the Nigerian Meteorological Agency (NiMet), the Akwa Ibom State Government has selected 15 coastal local government areas (LGAs) of the state for sensitization on risk-reduction measures during flooding.

Early this month, NiMet warned of impending flooding this year in 11 states of Akwa Ibom, Bauchi, Benue, Borno, Cross River, Delta, Kaduna, Kwara, Nasarawa, Yobe and Zamfara

The 15 LGAs selected by the Akwa Ibom State Government out of the 31 were contained in a statement issued in Uyo by the Permanent Secretary, Deputy Governor’s Office, Mr Nkopuruk Ekaiko.

The statement, a copies of which were made available to newsmen on Wednesday, disclosed that the sensitization campaign will commence on Aug. 18 in four centres of Oron, Ibeno, Ikot Abasi and Itu.

The Oron centre will comprise Oron, Udung Uko, Mbo, Urue Offong/Oruko and Okobo LGAs while Ibeno centre will be made up of Eket, Esit Eket, Onna and Ibeno LGAs.

The LGAs in Ikot Abasi centre are Mkpat Enin, Eastern Obolo and Ikot Abasi while Itu centre comprises Uruan, Ibiono Ibom and Itu LGAs.

According to the statement, the state government had already flagged off media campaign against harmful environmental practices like dumping of refuse in the drainage system.

“The campaign also warns against blocking of drainage such as erection of structures on water channels against government approved plan,” Ekaiko added.