Edo Guber Poll: PDP’s Ize Iyamu Makes INEC’s Final List

  • As commission unveil 19 candidates

Onyebuchi Ezigbo in Abuja

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has published the final list of candidates for the Edo governorship election scheduled for Saturday, 10 September 2016.

According to a document signed and issued by the Secretary to the Commission, Mrs. Augusta C. Ogakwu, 19 Political Parties and their candidates have been cleared by the Commission to contest the election.

Prince Osagie Ize-Iyamu was among the candidates on the INEC-approved list made public on Thursday, thus putting paid the controversy over which of the candidates thrown up by the leadership crisis in the PDP would receive the blessing of the commission.

Section 34 of the Electoral Act 2010 (as amended) provides: “The Commission shall, at least thirty days before the day of the election, publish by displaying or causing to be displayed at the relevant office(s) of the Commission and on the Commission’s website, a statement of the full names and addresses of all candidates standing nominated.”