UI Alumni Honour Kalu, Oyegun, Others


Ademola Babalola in Ibadan

The University of Ibadan Alumni Association (UIAA) on Saturday honoured a former Governor of Abia State, Dr. Orji Uzor Kalu, the National Chairman of the ruling All Progressives Congress, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun, Chief Dr. Michael Omolayole, Dr. Amechi Obiora of Eko Hospital, Chief Reuben Fasoranti (leader of Afenifere) and Chief Olu Falae for their contributions to the institution.

In conferring the awards, Dr. Kemi Emina described Kalu, publisher of The Sun and New Telegraph newspapers, as a great entrepreneur who is leading the youths of Nigeria through his entrepreneurial spirit.

He made the remark during his welcome address at the UIAA Luncheon and Awards ceremony of the association held at the Bishop Richard Finn Auditorium, University of Ibadan, as part of activities marking the annual programmes of the association chairmaned by the former Vice President, Alhaji Atiku Abubakar, who was ably represented by the Pro-Chancellor of the UI, Dr. Umar Mustapha.

The luncheon and award were a follow-up to the 3rd Public Service lecture of the association entitled: “Change and the Nigerian Traditional Institution”‎, and delivered on Friday by the Obi of Onitsha His Majesty Nnaemeka Alfred Achebe.

Kalu, a former governor of Abia State, a quintessential leader and business magnate, who was represented on the occasion by his Personal Assistant, Prince Kunle Oyewumi, was among the 58 ‘ancients’ conferred with various awards by the university alumni. Just as he was given the “Outstanding Entrepreneur of the Year” award, the former Edo State Governor and National Chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC) was given the “Alumnus of the Year” award.

While the UIAA President thanked Dr Kalu for his immense contribution to the development of the University of Ibadan and advancement of knowledge, he called on him “to continue to do more in his entrepreneurial spirit and empowerment of the youth. Similarly, he thanked Chief Oyegun “for all you have done to uplift our institution, to uplift our education and to uplift our country because you belong to the ancient and the modern class. You are the first of its kind to be given an award of ‘Alumnus of the Year of this institution”.

Further details later