Nigeria Has Achieved Milestone in Democracy, Says Group

As Nigeria marks its Democracy Day, the Pan-Nigerian Coalition of Patriotic Stakeholders (Pan-NCPS) has praised the people for their enduring sacrifices which has sustained democratic rule in the country for past 17 years.

 The National Chairman of Pan-NCPS,  Prof Godswill Nnaji,  in a statement on behalf of the group, remarked that there is cause for celebration in view of the challenges faced over the years to nurture democratic rule in the country.

According to the group, “Our democracy has been tested and tried like gold in fire.  Today, Nigerians verily deserve praises and congratulations for attaining this political feat cum democratic milestone.

“In our tortuous movement towards democratic civility and the given political inertia and naivety, nobody expected that it was going to be very easy or a piece of cake, but given our pedigree as quick-learners and brilliant people, every evidence points to our willingness and preparedness to navigate the process and correct our shortfalls and learn from them as we progress.

 “This has become necessary for us in order to savour the goodness and full gamut of benefits (dividends) of successful democracy in our national life, devoid of corruption, crass impunity, and also enhance our position in the elite league of democratic nations.”

Nnaji, who is the pioneer chairman of the Inter Party Advisory Council (IPAC) said the pro -democracy group is unveiling a list of more than 25 honorees comprising former President, Olusegun Obasanjo, who have contributed immensely towards the entrenchment of democratic rule in the country.

He disclosed that others who made the list were former Vice-President, Alhaji Atiku Abubakar; the Chief Justice of Nigeria  (CJN),  Justice Mahmud Mohammed; former Senate President,  Mr. David Mark; national leader of All Progressives  Congress (APC),  Asiwaju Senator Bola Tinubu, and Chief of Defence Staff,  Gen Gabriel Abayomi Olonisakin, among others.

Related Articles