APC Wins Kwara Bye-election, Dedicates Victory to Saraki


By Hammed Shittu in Ilorin

The All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, Mrs Victoria Afolayan, has been declared the winner of the bye-election into the Kwara State House of Assembly in Oke-Ero government area constituency.

The Returning Officer for the election, Dr. Rasheed Jimoh, while announcing the result at the council secretariat in Iloffa, said Afolayan polled 5, 344 votes and her closest rival, Mr. Adeoti Oluwanishola Aare of the Peoples Democratic Party has 1,248 votes, while Kemi Famuwagun of KOWA party polled 34 votes.

Jimoh, who is of the University of Ilorin, disclosed that the total number of registered voters was 29, 437, but only 6, 744 voters were accredited.

He said out of the 6, 627 votes 110 were rejected leaving a total number of valid votes at 5, 804.

The house of assembly seat became vacant following the death of its former occupant, Hon. Moses Afolayan, the husband of the winner of the bye-electi‎on.

The APC candidate won in 163 wards while PDP candidate won only one ward.

Speaking with journalists in Ilorin on Sunday, the state chairman of the APC, Alhaji Isola Balogun- Fulani dedicated the victory to the Senate President, Dr Bukola Saraki.