Ondo LG Polls: PDP Clears All 18 Council Seats


By James Sowole in Akure

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidates were yesterday declared winners of last Saturday’s local government council elections conducted in the 18 council areas of Ondo State.

Similarly, the PDP candidates won 202 out of 203 councillorship positions in the state.

The only councillorship position lost by the ruling party was Ward 9, Oba Ile in Akure North Local Government Area where the PDP candidate lost to Allied Congress Party of Nigeria (ACPN) candidate.

The Chairman of the Ondo State Independent Electoral Commission (ODIEC), Professor Olugbenga Ige, who announced the results of the election officially at the commission’s headquarters in Akure, said 14 political parties participated in the election.

Reading out the results, the ODIEC chairman said all the results had earlier been declared at various wards and council collation centres by respective returning officers.

The elected chairmen, according to Ige are: Oluwole Arowolo (Akoko North East, Aladetimehin Joseph Olusola (Akoko North West), Agunloye Samuel Babasola (Akoko South East), Abiodun Ogunbi (Akoko Douth West), Babalola Bamidele (Akure North) and Alarapon Adebayo (Akure South) and Sobijoh Timiminiwei.

Other elected chairmen are Akingbaso Festus (Idanre), Sola Adu (Ifedore), Omomowo Agun-Ola (Ilaje). Gbemibade Adetoro Folagbade (Ile-Oluji/Okeigbo), Julius Elumare (Irele) Raphael Ademulegun (Odigbo) Lai Ogunsire (Okitipupa).

Also elected were Akinkuoie Gafar (Ondo East) Ogunya Victor Iranola (Ondo West) Awodeyi Osuma Ojo (Ose) and Olawunmi Oluwole Josiah (Owo).

The ODIEC commended the people of the state for their peaceful conduct during the election, stating that there was no crisis of any sort during the poll.

He said winners of the election shall be given their certificate of return today (Monday) at the ODIEC headquarters.

Meanwhile, the All Progressives Congress (APC) yesterday stated that the results of the election clearly vindicated the party’s position on the election.

The APC in a statement signed by its Director of Publicity, Steve Otaloro,  alleged that the results had been written before the poll and handed over to the ODIEC chairman for mere announcement.

The APC alleged that the PDP fielded its member under some mushroom parties that do not exist in the state to create the impression of a contest.

It stated that it was known to everyone that people of the state did not come out to vote, wondering where the ODIEC got the votes it announced.

The party therefore stated that the truth shall be known during the November 2016 election.