Sani-Omolori Emerges New Clerk of National Assembly


Omololu Ogunmade in Abuja
The National Assembly Commission wednesday appointed the Clerk of the House of Representatives, Mr. Mohammed Sani-Omolori, as the new Acting Clerk of the National Assembly.

Sani-Omolori replaces the outgoing Clerk of the National Assembly (CNA) Salisu Maikasuwa who will proceed on terminal leave on May 14.

The circumstances surrounding the appointment of Sani-Omolori as Maikasuwa’s successor was however shrouded in a mystery as it only showed the politics of bureaucracy which often plays out in the National Assembly.

Maikasuwa was expected to be succeeded by the Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly (DCNA), Mr. Benedict Efeturi, in acting capacity until August when he is expected to proceed on his own terminal leave.

A reliable source told THISDAY wednesday that the appointment of Sani-Omolori might lead to a clash of operations between the DCNA and the acting clerk.

But THISDAY learnt that there would not be any clash of events after all as the acting clerk will take over the headship of National Assembly management while the DCNA will remain in his office in that capacity till August when he will bow out of service.
Sani-Omolori became Clerk of the House of Representatives in 2008.

A prince of Ebira, he was born into the family of the immediate past Ohinoyi of Ebiraland, the late Alhaji Mohammed Sani-Omolori, in Okene, on June 7, 1961.

He had his early education at the Native Authority (Central) Primary School, Okene from 1966 to 1971.

He thereafter proceeded to Government Secondary School now Abdul Azeez Attah Memorial College Okene from 1972 to 1976.

From there, he proceeded to the Katsina College of Arts, Science and Technology (KCAST), Zaria for his advanced level certificate from 1977 to 1979.

After leaving KCAST, he later secured admission into Ahmadu Bello University (ABU) Zaria in 1979 where he obtained LLB in Law 1982.

Upon graduation from ABU, he proceeded to the Nigerian Law School, Lagos in 1982 and was called to the Nigerian Bar in 1983.