PDP to Hold Congresses in 33 States


* exempts Kogi, Ondo, Edo
Onyebuchi Ezigbo in Abuja

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has fixed April 25 for the commencement of elective congresses in thirty three states of the federation.

However, the party said that three states – Ondo, Edo and Kogi – have been exempted ifrom the exercise in line with the approval granted by the National Executive Committee.

In a statement issued on Saturday by the National Publicity Secretary of the PDP, Chief Olisa Metuh, the said the organization of the state congresses will from April 25 in all the states with the exception of the Kogi, Ondo and Edo.

The statement said: “In view of the resolve of the leadership of the PDP to enthrone and sustain internal democracy within our fold, and in line with the decision of the National Executive Committee (NEC) on the exemption of states with on-going congresses as well as non-contentious states from the forthcoming congresses, the National Working Committee (NWC) hereby announces that only three (3) states, namely; Kogi, Ondo and Edo states are exempted from the congresses.