INEC Declares APC, APGA Winners of FCT Elections


Onyebuchi Ezigbo in Abuja

The All Progressives Congress (APC) and the All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA) have emerged winners of last Wednesday’s rerun elections in four area councils of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Abuja.

The rerun elections were held in Abuja Municipal Area Council (AMAC), Kuje, Abaji and Gwagwalada saw APC clinching five of the six area council elections, while APGA won in Gwagwalada.

Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) had declared the elections inconclusive as a result of violence, over voting and non-use of Smart Card Readers or accreditation of voters, and ordered a rerun in 39 polling units in 20 Registration Areas.

But in the result released yesterday, INEC declared the APC candidate, Ibrahim Adamu Candido winner of AMAC with 27, 482 votes.

Also in Kuje Area Council, Abdullahi Galadima of APC won with 15, 175 votes while Joseph Shazih of APC won in Kwali Area Council with 15, 309 votes.

The party’s candidates also won in Bwari and Abaji Area Councils.
However, APGA’s candidate, Adamu Mustapha, was declared chairman-elect of Gwagwalada Area council with 15, 950 votes. The candidate of APC, Abubakar Jubril, got 14569 votes.
The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), which won five Area Councils in 2013, could not win any chairmanship position this year.

Senate Minority Whip, Senator Philip Aduda, who is representing FCT in the Senate on the platform of PDP, alleged sabotage against the party.
“We know that there are a lot of sabotages that are being put in place so that there are delay in and where we have strongholds we might not have the opportunity and all that,” he said.