Benue Assembly Sacks 3 Council Chairmen over Fraud

George Okoh in Makurdi

The Benue House of Assembly has sacked Tavershima Agber, Gideon Haanongon, and Francis Zazan, the chairmen of caretaker committees for Gboko, Ukum, Katsina-Ala Local Government Areas of the state respectively over alleged financial malfeasance and engaging in criminal activities.

The sack of the chairmen followed a request by the state Governor, Hyacinth Alia, in a letter read at the plenary last Tuesday by the Speaker, Hyacinth Dajoh.

The governor asked the Assembly to approve the sack of three local government area caretaker committee chairmen over alleged financial misconduct.

According to the correspondence, the caretaker chairmen were recommended for removal after the government appraised complaints of non-remittance of revenues accruing to their respective councils.

The local government chairmen were also accused of other criminal activities.

While endorsing the governor’s request, members of the state House of Assembly asked the affected chairmen to immediately handover to their vice chairmen pending the swearing-in of the newly appointed replacements.

The Assembly also approved replacements for the three sacked local government chairpersons recommended by Governor Alia.

The Assembly correspondence urged the members to replace the sacked trio with Verlumun Avar in Gboko; Victor Iorza in Ukum; and Justin Shaku for Katsina-Ala LGA.

Related Articles